Lemon Mint Ginger Bars

Standard

Oh man do I have a treat for you.  Have you ever had a Larabar? Me neither, can’t afford them or even find them anywhere local.  I’ve really wanted to try one and then I ran across this recipe. Sweet, sweet success.  Now this is delicious and what makes them sweet? Dates.

Oh man, dates should not even be considered a fruit.  Weighing in at a whopping 26g of sugar for a serving (about 5 dates), it should be considered a sweet treat instead of a serving of fruit. I know, I spoiled all of the fun.

I officially endorse this as the best thing ever.  I know, I know, you people have to have my approval to try something.  I should calm it down with the sarcasm.

I love that this is sweetened with fruit instead of having to add honey.  I consider it a treat, but I think you can have this one a little more often than my normal suggested treat distribution. Perfect for post workout, because we all know that our bodies handle sugar better after a workout (something to do with insulin…I should research this further) and it gives a decent dose of protein.

I found the original recipe here and I fell in love! I have never been so excited about a fruit and nut bar that is so packed with wonderful nutrients.  I have tweaked the recipe a bit, because I just need more of the lemon flavor and I wanted to add an herb to freshen it up!

Enjoy!

Lemon Mint Ginger Bars

  • 1 cup of sliced almonds
  • 1/2 cup cashews
  •  1/2 cup unsweetened flaked coconut
  • 1 1/2 cups of pitted dates
  • The zest of 2 lemons and the juice of only one of the lemons
  • 2 tsp of grated ginger
  • 5 mint leaves, torn

1.  Combine all ingredients in a food processor

2. Process until the mixture forms a ball

3.  Line a 9x 9 baking pan with parchment and press mixture into pan

4. Refrigerate a couple of hours and cut into bars of whatever size you desire

Tip: They taste wonderful right out of the food processor, but let them sit over night and the flavors really come out!

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

2 responses »

Leave a Reply

