Beautifully Roasted Asparagus

Standard

I know what you’re thinking, my recipes aren’t really recipes at all, just simple lessons on preparation.  I am more than ok with that assessment.  Do you know why? I have a stash of incredible recipes, from my former life, that would make even the greatest chef moan with pleasure, but guess what? They made me fat.  Sad, but true.  I don’t like to hide excellent ingredients with stuff.  I don’t need my chicken breaded.  I don’t need my asparagus wrapped in prosciutto.  I don’t need almond flour or coconut flour to make a cake with.  I’m not trying to fool anybody, I don’t want people to taste my food and think “wow, I can’t believe that’s good for you.”  I want to use the real ingredient, combined with a seasoning that compliments it perfectly.  I want to taste my food and know that it is real.  This is what this new life is all about.  I’m not trying to fill in the gaps or make healthier versions of the food I used to eat.  I want to eat real food in their purest form, and when I get tired of raw veggies I do the most glorious thing that ever happened to a veggie: I roast them.

Now it is Spring, that means we can eat asparagus and not cover it with “stuff”! Out of season asparagus is just simply gross.  No offense to any out of season asparagus reading (which is not possible, because it is Spring!!!!)

There are millions of variations on Roasted Asparagus and I have tried most of them, so guess what? I have done the work for you! Here is my absolute favorite Asparagus recipe and it is not my own:

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/roasted-asparagus-recipe/index.html

Ingredients (Alton Brown’s Recipe)

  • 1 pound fresh asparagus, 1 to 1 1/2 inches cut off the bottom
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 medium lemon, zested
  • 1/2 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon freshly grated nutmeg
  • Freshly ground black pepper

Directions

Heat the oven to 500 degrees F.

Lay the asparagus on a long double layer of heavy-duty aluminum foil. Drizzle with the olive oil and toss to coat. Spread the spears into a single layer. Fold the edges of the foil to make a tray. Roast in the oven for 5 minutes. Carefully toss the spears with tongs and roast just until tender and tips begin to brown, about 5 minutes more. Sprinkle with the zest, salt, nutmeg, and pepper, to taste, and toss to evenly distribute. Transfer to a serving platter and serve immediately.

tips:

  • When the recipe says season after you roast it, do it! It’s very important.
  • Yes, you must use the nutmeg and the lemon zest! I mean it, I’m watching you.
  • Some people like to add the juice of the lemon to this, I detest it. I think the zest adds the perfect fresh, light touch.  Do not overwhelm the flavor of the asparagus, you will regret it.
  • This really needs to be served right out of the oven.  I’ve never been much of a fan of room temperature asparagus

 

Health and Happiness,

K

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

