Lemon Ricotta Pound Cake

Standard

In my former life, this was a delicacy.  The incredibly moist, melt in your mouth, cake will blow your mind.  If you are a lemon lover this is most certainly a must have.

Disclaimer: This is neither paleo, nor healthy.  I’m making this for my family for the Easter weekend, but sadly, I will not be partaking.  I wanted to share it because it is a show stopper.  Seriously, it’s incredible.

Enjoy!

Lemon Ricotta Pound Cake

  • 3/4 cup (1 1/2 sticks) unsalted butter, at room temperature
  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour
  • 2 1/2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon kosher salt
  • 1 1/2 cups whole-milk ricotta cheese
  • 1 1/2 cups plus 1 table spoon sugar
  • 3 large eggs
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 lemons, zested and juiced
for the glaze
  • 1 cup confectioners sugar
  • zest of one lemon, juice of the same lemon
  • 1/4 cup milk

1. Preheat oven to 350 F.  Grease a 9x5x3 loaf pan

2.  In a medium bowl combine flour, baking powder, and salt

3. Using a mixer, cream the butter, ricotta and granulated sugar until light and fluffy, about 3 minutes. With the machine running, add the eggs 1 at a time. Add the vanilla, lemon zest, and the juice of both lemons . Add the dry ingredients, a small amount at a time, until just mixed.

4. Pour the batter into the prepared pan and bake until a toothpick comes out clean and the cake pulls away from the sides of the pan, 45 to 50 minutes. Let cool in the pan for 10 minutes, then transfer to a rack to cool completely.

5. Make the glaze. Combine confectioners sugar, lemon zest, lemon juice, and milk. Pour the glaze on top of the pound cake.  Cut and serve.

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

