Zucchini Hashbrowns

Standard

I had an incident involving some raspberry coconut macaroons…to make a long story short, I’m going to give up honey for a while.  For those of you with self control, I will post the recipe soon.  As for me, I’m going to go strictly sugar free for a little while.  But honey is good for you , right? Nope, sugar is sugar.

Even with the great macaroon gluttony incident of 2012, I still managed to lose 4 pounds since my last weigh-in! 2 pounds a week is not shabby at all.  I know you people on weight watchers might laugh at my number (yes there might be some sarcasm in that statement, I’m not exactly a fan of WW) , but for a gal who couldn’t lose weight at all, this is monumental.  We all know the slower you lose the weight, the more likely you are to keep it off.  Wait a minute, what am I doing? Why do I feel a need to defend my weight-loss? Hmm, I must have some issues.

I think it’s great the Weight Watchers and Dr. Oz has paired up, they are about the same in my mind.  When I think of all the foods that I have put in my past, the most dangerous food I was consuming, is processed foods. If a product says low fat you can go ahead and assume that you’re dealing with a chemical onslaught.  Even low calorie foods are sometimes just a smaller portion that they are selling to you for the same price!  When I go to the grocery store, I shop the outside perimeter of the store.  Your junk usually lies within the center aisles of a grocery store.  Of course there are some exceptions, but come on out to my local Food Lion and tell me I’m wrong (No, we don’t get a Whole Foods out in the middle of nowhere, not even a Harris Teeter in sight).  So what does this have to do with Weight Watchers and Dr. Oz? They often promote processed food items.  Especially Weight Watchers…Heck, they even make a ton of money selling you processed foods that promote their point system.  If you want to be healthy, I see no room in your life for a 4 point processed snack cake.  Just eat real food! That’s all!  We are going to have to make room in our schedules to eat real food! I know those snack cakes are easy, so is going on Metformin, and then having to take insulin shots….and then being seriously sick. Wait a minute…that doesn’t sound easy at all.  You will NEVER change until you have challenged yourself. There will always be obstacles in life, always, but if you have time to build your career, raise a family, and fully enjoy your life, you have time to do the right thing for your body.  If you don’t have your health, you don’t have anything, and if you aren’t raising your family in good health, what kind of life are you setting them up for?

Everyone wants a simple fix.  They want to replace the oil in a box of cake mix with apple sauce and lose all of their excess weight.  They want to buy low fat, over processed foods, and lose all of their weight.  They may lose some weight, but at the end of the day they’re still eating cake and chemicals. Okay, enough of that.

Let’s see, this is day 5 of the 30 Day Challenge! It’s going great and I hope you all will join me!  Well I guess if you don’t, I get to keep the prize all to myself.

There are days that I miss things about my old life.  I think I miss grits the most…grits and hashbrowns, oh and a beautiful french omelet cooked in luscious butter.  I’m not tempted by these foods, but I find myself thinking about them time from time.

There will never be a substitute for grits…or butter, but hashbrowns, hashbrowns I can work with.

So enjoy this yummy recipe for Zucchini Hashbrowns!

Zucchini Hashbrowns


For a single serving,

2 medium zucchinis, shredded

1/2 small onion, minced

one egg

one clove of garlic

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper flakes

Salt and pepper

a pinch of nutmeg

1. Once Zucchinis are shredded, it is very important to get as much water out of the zucchini as possible.  Sprinkle them with a little salt (to draw out the moisture).  Let sit for a few minutes in a colander. Place the shredded zucchini in a kitchen towel, and wring out the water.  You will have to repeat this process a few times.

2.  Heat a tablespoon of olive oil in a pan over medium heat.  Add a single clove of garlic, crushed, to the oil.  Add the crushed red pepper.  Let the garlic steep in the oil for a few minutes, until brown, and remove the garlic.

3.  Saute the onion in the same pan until soft.  Remove the onion from pan and place on a paper towel to drain the excess grease.

4.  Mix the zuchinni, egg, cooked onion, salt, pepper, and nutmeg in a bowl.  Add more olive oil to the pan, if needed.  Add the mixture to the pan and spread out evenly.

5.  Once the zucchini is brown on one side, flip to the other.  Brown the other side, remove from pan, drain excess oil, and then finally, serve!

These will not crisp up like potatoes, but they are very delicious.

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

