My Favorite Things

Standard

These are a Few of my Favorite Things

you may think of the Sound of Music, I think of this:

Hello! I hope you all are keeping up with those push-ups! I already feel stronger! Don’t know what I’m talking about? Check it out!

So I have compiled a list of things that if I did not have them, my quality of life would suffer greatly.  Ok, that’s a little dramatic, but these things are so important to my daily life.

In no particular order,

1.Coconut oil

Oh coconut oil. Where do I even start? I cook with it, eat it right out of the jar, put it in my coffee, put it on my body, and my favorite use, I use it on my hair.  I could go on and on about the health benefits of coconut oil, but there are literally thousands of articles that have already been written, so I’ll just share a wonderful link with you.

The key to applying it to your hair and body, is to remember a little goes a long way.  This is the one thing I wish I knew before I started using coconut oil.  When I get my 54 oz. every 2-3 months, the first thing I do is to put some in small cosmetic jars.  I keep one in my bathroom and one in my purse.  Be really careful if you put one in your purse.  Coconut oil melts around 76 F, so make sure you have a really good quality no leak jar.

I use it as a moisturizer for my face.  The key is to use just enough to make your fingertips a little greasy and then massage into your face really well.

As for my hair, I rub about a pea sized amount into my fingertips and run my fingers through my hair.  I try to stay away from my roots (as I have oily hair) and really focus on the ends of my hair.  I do this with my hair wet, after every shower.  You won’t believe how soft and beautiful it makes my hair.  About once a month, I liberally grease up my hair with the oil, put on a shower cap, and sleep on it as a conditioning deep treatment.  Be sure to wash your hair very well the next day, you may even have to shampoo twice, but your hair really feels amazing afterwards.

2. Mushrooms

I swear that I saute mushrooms and onions to go with most meals.  As you’ve already figured out, I’m in love with caramelized onions and the only thing that makes that better is mushrooms.  People think that mushrooms are nutrition-less, but that simply isn’t true.  It is a great source of selenium, riboflavin, niacin, and potassium.

I love roasting them with a chicken.  They soak up so much flavor and well, I don’t think there has ever been a tastier sponge in the history of ever.

Tip:  When sauteing onions and mushrooms, or any other veg, always put the mushrooms in first and don’t touch them until they are brown on one side, flip the mushrooms, brown the other side.  When the mushrooms are to your liking, add the onions and any seasonings you would like.  We all know mushrooms are funny about releasing their water, so this is an excellent way to protect yourself from mushroom mush.

3. Boneless skinless chicken thighs

These are my favorite go to meat.  When it’s 6 pm and I think to myself, “Oh snap I totally forgot to make dinner, what in the world will we eat?” This is always my delicious quick meal.  I season them with a little bit of salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder.  Add olive oil, and it cooks perfectly in the oven at 400F, on the grill, or even in a saute pan.  This is WAY better than boneless skinless chicken breasts. It is so unbelievably moist and tasty. I aint afraid of no animal fat (unless it comes from a grain fed cow, then I’m really afraid of animal fat).

Trust me, there will be some chicken thigh recipes coming to your favorite blog, soon!

4. Raspberries

mmm…what is there not to love about an in season raspberry?  Slightly sweet, soft, and a burst of flavor in your mouth.  Like a grown up gusher…well, kind of.

The great thing about these little guys is that they are a very low sugar fruit. Awesome, right?  So I eat as many as I want of them.

Tip: do NOT buy out of season raspberries (I keep doing this for some reason because I’m so freakin’ impatient and I always end up wasting my precious money).  They are at their peak in the summer, so just wait.  This advice is mainly for myself.  I try to buy frozen, whole raspberries and even though it isn’t even close to a fresh summer raspberry, it gets the job done.

5. Socks

Ok, this seems strange to put on my list, but I am very much obsessed with socks.  When I find an affordable sock that doesn’t slip when I run, I can’t help myself.  So I usually go to TJ Maxx and buy the Puma socks.  I get 6 pairs for 10 bucks and I am a happy girl.  I can’t stop buying them though, like the zombie apocalypse is coming and I’m going to have to run for the rest of my life.  I take it that seriously

6. Carrots

My typical day of eating includes chicken, sauteed vegetables, some fruit, and lots of raw carrots.  I feel the need to have more carbs than the typical Paleo-er.  Carrots and sweet potatoes take care of that need, but carrots are a staple in my diet, and sweet potatoes are a once a week thing.

7. Dark Chocolate Almond Milk

Oh my goodness. So amazing.  If I feel like I have to have dessert, I will have a little chocolate milk.

My favorite way to enjoy? With a drop of mint extract.  Who doesn’t love mint chocolate?

8. Squats

Oh squats, how I loathe thee.  However, this move needs nothing, but you.  If I had to list my top five body changers, it would be 1. squats, 2. deadlifts, 3. planks, 4. push-ups, and 5. running.  The beautiful thing is that there are so many variations of the basics, that you could never get bored of them.  Back to squats, it is so important to strengthen the muscles of the lower body.  These are huge muscle groups that can totally rev your metabolism.  Plus, who doesn’t love a lifted butt on top of strong thighs?

9. Danskin

I would love more than anything to be able to order everything from Lululemon, but I just can’t. Matter of fact, I don’t own one thing that they make.  Where do I get my workout clothes? Walmart.  Yes I know, down with the big corporations, but I need things, things that I can afford.  Honestly it’s not great quality, but the fit of their capri workout pants (not the yoga stuff) is perfect for me.  They stay where they are supposed to and are cool and comfortable.  I really go through these pants, but at 12 bucks a pop, I really don’t care.  Would it be cheaper to buy a high quality pant that lasts? Well yes, but work out clothes have to come second to bills.  That’s just the way it is.  The tops on the other hand are great, and last a really long time.

10.  Yoga

I always set my alarm to get up super early for my a.m. yoga.  I also always plan to do yoga before bed.  Guess what? it rarely happens as planned.  So maybe I should go for afternoon yoga? The point is, I integrate yoga into my daily life.  I am very aware of posture and yoga makes for the most incredible post-workout stretch.  I always integrate yoga into my active life and am way better for it.  Even with the running and strength training, the scale didn’t even want to really budge until I added yoga.  I can’t explain this, but I am very grateful.

BONUS thing , and slightly unrelated,

gorgeous Orchids.  Like this belated Valentine’s gift I got over the weekend!  Don’t get your hopes up, still no man, my Dad gave me the Orchid.  Yep, that is a doggie snoozing in the background.

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

