Dark Chocolate Mini “Cheesecake” with Fresh Raspberries

Standard

Hide the scale.  I’m obsessed.  It’s really great because the scale has been coming down steadily, but it is getting out of hand.  I’m really happy with my decision to give up milk products.  I was absolutely convicted, through my research, to give up grains, but I was on the fence about milk products.  Once I was about 2 weeks into no grain, my body decided for me that it was time to give up the dairy.  I talk about this often, but it is so amazing how when you eliminate junk from your life, your body and your mind become so in sync.  Now when my body tries to communicate, I can understand and fix problems, because there is no junk in the way, confusing my body and mind.

If you have ever had problems in your life with an inability to lose weight, (Meaning an actual problem, not lack of self control) this is a way of life that you should definitely give a shot.

There is a huge concern that it is unhealthy to give up entire food groups.  Did God tell you to eat whole wheat? probably not. The government did.  Think about that for a minute.  There are three essential groups to consider when looking at the macro-nutrients (These are the foods you receive the most calories and energy from. Micro-nutrients are vitamins, minerals, and other assorted compounds) in your diet: Carbs, Protein, and Fat.  You should figure out what ratios of these three work for you. It’s not an easy process, but if you eliminate junk, it will be a whole lot easier.  Speaking of God, funny/terrible story, When I take communion I always hold the bread in my mouth until I can slyly spit it out in a tissue.  And there it is.

Back to the scale, I have asked my mom to hide my scale until my next official weigh in: 4/4.  I’m serious, I need help. I just can’t stop weighing myself multiple times a day.  It’s driving me crazy.  Good thing she hid the scale, because I am about to destroy this dessert. Enjoy (in moderation! please share this and get it out of your house!!!!!!)

I’m still struggling with my photog skills, bear with me.

I devoured this thing after this picture was taken.  Also, not so fun fact, I had to take 124 pictures to get these 2 mediocre pictures. Oh.My.Goodness.

Dark Chocolate “Cheesecake” with Fresh Raspberries

For the crust:

1 cup of cashews

1/4 cup if cocoa powder

1/8 cup of coconut oil

1/8 cup honey

1 egg

1 tsp of real vanilla extract

Preheat oven to 350 F

Put cashews in a food processor and pulse until almost a flour like consistency.  Sometimes I just put the cashews in a ziploc bag and pound it out with a meat tenderizer hammer thingy.  I hate getting out appliances.

Add all ingredients to a bowl and mix very well.  Mold crust to the bottom of each mold in a cupcake pan (or you could do one large cheesecake in a spring form pan)

Bake for 5 minutes, lower oven to 225 F

For the “Cheesecake”

9 ounces of Excellent Dark Chocolate (60% cocoa or more)

1/2 cup coconut oil

-Melt these two ingredients together in a double boiler until chocolate is just melted

2/3 cup honey

1 tbs of water

3 eggs

tsp of brewed espresso of coffee

Once chocolate is just melted, remove from heat and add the honey, water and espresso (leftover coffee from breakfast works too. It’s actually an important step because it really brings out the chocolate flavor)

Wisk in the three eggs.

Pour chocolate mixture into the cupcake molds and fill to the top.  Place pans in a preheated water bath( I just use a large casserole dish put some water in it and preheat it with the oven).  The water should come to about half way up the side of the pan.  *****If using a spring form pan, you should wrap the pan in tinfoil, so water doesn’t seep in)

Bake for 1 hour or until the top is dry to touch, but still slightly jiggly. If you don’t preheat your water bath, it will take longer to cook.

Remove, let cool until cool enough to touch.  Place in refrigerator and let it firm up for about 3 hours.  Cake should be of a fudgy texture

Add the garnish of your choosing! Raspberries definitely complement the dark chocolate.

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

