Perfect Salmon, Sweet Potato Fritters, and Baked Zucchini Chips

Standard

Spring.  Here is a list of things I love about Spring:

Asparagus (bleh have you ever tasted a late summer asparagus in the grocery store? gross)

cherries

lemons

strawberries

All of my beautiful herbs are slowly, but surely popping out of the ground! I seriously go outside everyday and just stare at my garden to see if anything changed.  Ok, maybe I do this more than once a day.  I’m just waiting for my pansies to die so I can have more room in my garden.  That sounds bad, but when it’s time to go, it’s just time. DIE PANSIES DIE. Whoa, where did that come from?  Now I am not an expert gardener by any means, so if you would like to hold my hand during this process I would greatly appreciate it (sorry if it’s sweaty).  Has anyone ever experimented with lasagna gardening? Well, it’s awesome and I feel like I could grow anything in that garden!  I need to get some onions and collards going and then I’ll be set.  It’s ugly, but this summer, when it has filled out, it will be gorgeous…and tasty.

Collards. Oh.My.Goodness, I love collards.  I never liked them until I started cooking them, and guess what? I would like to formally challenge all of your southern grandmothers to a collard cook off! I’m serious, I can cook the ever-livin’ mess out of some collards. Wow, I am super humble today.  I will soon share my collard recipe, but I have to beat all of your little southern grandmas first. Throw down, let’s go.

Rant: I read a lot of paleo blogs and something is really bothering me.  I know they’re trying to drum up business and please the people, but seriously, stop posting so many paleo desserts!  Every post can’t be a dessert. Why? because you’re making us fat. Even though the recipes usually use honey, sugar is sugar.  So here’s what I’m going to do, I promise to only post one dessert per week and it will always include a disclaimer! Please, please, please share your desserts with people.  Do not leave the stuff hanging around the house.  Enjoy a wonderful piece or slice of the decadent dessert and then give it away. I’m sorry, does this upset you? Believe me, after that one time I ate an entire pan of paleo lemon bars, I can assure that you will thank me for the advice.  That being said, I have an AMAZING Chocolate Raspberry “Cheesecake” coming tomorrow. You do not want to miss this.

But today, I’m going to share with you a simple supper that I adore.  We all eat and cook salmon, but have you ever tried baking the salmon at a very low temperature? We’re talking 200 F, people.  It turns out so moist and perfect. The texture is just over the top lovely. So delicious. So eat this freely and without guilt.  Get those Omega 3s, people!

Perfect Salmon

Preheat oven to 200 F.  Leave the door slightly ajar, so the temp stays slightly below 200 degrees.

Start with a beautiful, fresh, piece of  salmon (or how many you need for your family).  This is probably the biggest factor in a successful, mouth watering, little piece of heaven.  Heaven never comes frozen.

Place the salmon on a baking sheet that is covered with parchment.

Season your salmon any way you desire ( I use a mixture of salt, pepper, paprika, and garlic powder).  Top with some olive oil and add a splash of water to the pan.

Bake in oven for 12-20 minutes, depending on the done-ness you prefer. I prefer My salmon cooked to medium (just barely warm in the center) That takes about 17 minutes.

Squeeze half a lemon on top, and enjoy!

Sweet Potato Fritters

I’m almost ashamed to give you this recipe, it’s so easy.  Every week I roast a sweet potato for dinner, eat half, and save the other half for whatever.

Cut your leftover sweet potato (fully cooked) into 1/2 inch slices.

Melt a tablespoon of coconut oil in a pan over medium-high heat.

Fry sweet potato fritters until brown and crusty on both sides.

Squeeze  lemon on top (if you desire)

Baked Zucchini Chips

These I can not take credit for.  These little guys blew up on Pinterest and they are really yummy.  Here is the link

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

