Wakey Wakey Eggs and Bac-ey

Standard

Bac-ey. That just looks funny. I’m talking about bacon people.  That previous sentence really needs a comma but everytime I start to think about bacon people it makes me laugh, so I’ll leave the grammatical error.  When I was  little, my mom used to wake up my my sister and me by saying this.  So this is a breakfast post…well kind of.  I’m having a really hard time keeping this post coherent and cohesive.  I have so much stuff in my head!

Children are funny.  I watch my 3 year old niece on a regular basis and today she kept calling me a *itch.  Like over and over again and I was close to throwing down some old school discipline.  Well apparently she was watching Bob the Builder and was trying to show me that he was digging a ditch.  Oops…at least I kept my cool.  Just thought I would share.  Sometimes it pays to think before you act.  Wait scratch that, it always pays to think before you act

On an un-related note, it got so cold last night and I was so worried that it would kill my little herb plants.  Well I am happy to announce that they made it through the night. Of course thank goodness I live in Eastern NC where the weather is ridiculously crazy and today it is in the 70s.  I know, you really care.  I also took a picture of my garden to share with you, but…it was so ugly I just deleted it.

I’m just getting into this weight lifting thing. I wish I was hard core, but the reality is I only have a few weights and a gross old bench that is shoved in a corner in my parent’s garage.  By the way, dead lifts are the way to go.  I think everyone says this, but seriously I hurt so good today.  Here’s a picture, enjoy the laugh.

I guess I really need to go to a gym for that, but I would rather spend my money on something I actually need. Like, new clothes for my shrinking body! I’m so impatient about being a size smaller.  You know what I’m talking about, you start losing weight and clothes start getting looser, but you’re scared to death to go and try on new clothes because you’re afraid that your weight-loss is some fantasy that was fabricated in your head. Now that was a run-on sentence. Deal with it.  I’m so scared that one day, no matter what I do, the scale is going to stop going down.  Even though people tell me I look smaller, I sometimes feel like its in my head.  I think in a way, it’s a good fear to have. At least you are going to work your tail off trying to escape that fear.  You know what the biggest reality check is? pictures. Oh.My.Goodness.  Does anybody hate pictures as much as I do? I mean I would go as far as to say that I wouldn’t want to hire a photographer for my hypothetical, probably never going to happen, wedding.  I used to think that I was a lot smaller than I was, but pictures never ever lie. So how do we escape this fear? bleh, heck if I know, but try to keep the focus on being healthy and deal with things as they come.

Fitness

That paragraph was a bit of a downer, gross.  Let’s talk about fitness! yay! That was way over the top, but I definitely love(hate) it.  I’m sure you don’t care about my routine, but we’re all here, we paid the money, let’s hear it, right? I like to mix aerobic exercise with anaerobic exercise.  Actually EVERYBODY should do this.  It has been the most effective for changing the way my body looks.  So what is aerobic and anaerobic? aerobic means with oxygen, and obviously, anaerobic means without. Ok, we could have all gone our entire lives without needing that knowledge.  Basically we’re talking about cardio vs. strength.

MWF- run 2 miles, recovery mile walk.  I have to be honest, as big as I am we can’t really call it running, but it sounds good. ha.  Oh and don’t even ask me how fast I run a mile, it’s pitiful.

TTHSat- Strength training. This means either a Jillian Michaels strength based DVD or lifting weights out in the garage, next to the yard sale sign.  Sometimes both

I say I do this, but I get bored really easily, so if it’s not a very pretty day, I might do a DVD…probably a JM one.  I will however run in the rain, because I am a beast like that.

Cereal

So far this has not been a breakfast post at all, as the title would suggest. Geez! I’m getting there, get off my back.  One of the challenges to eating the way I do and living with people who think I’m crazy, is breakfast.  It is especially hard now because my Dad’s doctor told him to stop eating eggs for breakfast because of his high cholesterol.  Which I think is bogus by the way, but we’ll get to that sometime in the future.  Yes, we all eat breakfast together at 6:30 every morning. Stop laughing.  So I had to figure out what the heck I was going to eat on cereal days.  So I did it, I made my own cereal.

This is great for anyone who is paleo. Maybe even someone who is trying to convert their kids to paleo. OR if you realize that cereal is the most over-processed junk ever. seriously, ever.  It’s just better to make it at home.

I do put a disclaimer on this.  This is not something I eat very often…why? because it has honey in it AND a lot of nuts.  I try not to eat too much honey and well, nuts just make me fat.  This recipe is awesome though, and you better try it. I’m watching.

With a bit of almond milk. Delish. This picture is killing me though…if only it were center. grrr

This is a second way I like to eat it, in Trifle form. Yum.

Just because it’s is so pretty….

Grain free, dairy free, Honey-Nut Cereal

Makes about 4 cups (I’m guestimating, don’t trust me)

  • 1 Cup of Raw Pecans
  • 1 Cup of Raw Cashews
  • 1/4 Cup of Milled Flax Seed
  • 1/4 Cup Raw Organic Honey
  • 1/4 Cup of Melted Coconut Oil
  • 2 Eggs
  1. Preheat your oven to 350 Degrees F
  2. Place your pecans and cashews(these are my favorite combo, use whatever nuts you like)  in a food processor or I put them in a gallon ziploc, and bang them up until it is part flour consistency, part chunks of nuts.
  3. In a bowl, combine nuts with the honey, flax seed, melted coconut oil, and eggs and mix until well blended
  4. Place parchment paper on a cookie sheet, and spread the mixture out thinly across the parchment.
  5. Bake for about 20 minutes or until your cereal is done, it will pass the toothpick test
  6. Let cool until you can safely handle the cereal
  7. If the parchment paper is really greasy, replace the parchment.  Crumble up the cereal until it, well, looks like cereal.  Bite sized pieces
  8. Crank oven up to 400 F and let the cereal crisp up for a few minutes.  Watch it carefully, because it will burn.
  9. Once cool, store in an airtight container in the refrigerator
  10. Once the crust is done
About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

