Let’s get right to it

Standard

Well here you are. I’m not sure what bad decision or crazy link you clicked on to get here, but all I know is that you’re here! That previous sentence was not a judgement, I love people with questionable morals!  I know, I know, I’m not funny, but please stay tuned and maybe I’ll be ready for my own sitcom by the end of this blog.  Think about it…read my blog religiously and you can say that you knew me before I was famous! Ok, gross, what a shameless plug…so let me stop rotting your brain and get to the matter at hand.

Oh wait, please, please, please, go to my About me section and read so you can get emotionally connected and add my blog to your favorites list (I am not above begging)

There is so much I need to tell you, where to start, wow this is overwhelming.  We could talk about nutrition, fitness, life goals, my adorable dog, music, gardening…but today we’ll start with the biggest changes I’ve made in my life in the past few months.

I have been trying to lose weight for more than half of my life.  I’m not your typical story, you know, the one where you ate junk your whole life, emotional eater, never got off the couch, and wondered why you were fat.  I ballooned when I was 10 years old, which I don’t know if any of you remember Middle School, but talk about horrendous.  My mother always prepared nutritious meals, we never went out to eat, and I lived a very active life.  So here I am a fat 10 year old that kept getting fatter and fatter for seemingly no reason (Oh except for college…yea…I definitely got fatter in college for a reason. It’s called Cookout). So here I am 25, living with my parents, single, and obese.  Hot stuff, right? That was not meant to be self-deprecating, I just like to call it how I see it.  Ok here’s the number, are you ready? November 2011: 239 pounds.

Whew, got that number off my chest, feels good.  I know I said that I’ve been trying to lose weight my whole life, but in Nov 2011, I finally realized that I was dying on the inside.  My life was plagued with severe depression, illness, migraines, insomnia, and the most angry stomach.  So I started out (as I always do) exercising and eating right, but what is different this time? I haven’t stopped.  That’s some powerful stuff people.  So I started eating right and exercising, my whole life has changed for the better, and I’m 60 lbs lighter, right? Hahaha I literally laughed out loud as I was typing that. The answer is: absolutely not.  No one ever tells you that for some people out there, weight-loss is the hardest thing that you will ever attempt.  I have struggled everyday for the past 4 months, but the beauty is that I haven’t stopped.  I am 20 lbs lighter and I swear to you those 20 lbs went down kicking and screaming.  The most important thing is that for the first time, no matter how hard it has been, I’m finally in it for life.

Ok, I’m trying to not completely overload you, because I want you to come back!!!! Tomorrow we talk about food! You might even get a recipe out of it. Did I mention that I’m a fabulous cook? Whoa, I need to get that arrogance in check.

 

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

