Sugar Addiction

Standard

I’m going to do something today that I have been really afraid to do, until now.  Wait a minute, I’m still afraid to do it, but I think it is important. I am going to post my before and current picture into the Weight-loss Stats section.  Why? Well, I saw a current picture of myself the other day and I was extremely impressed.  I have only lost 22 pounds, but I look so much better.  I must have put on a whole lot of muscle, because I really can’t believe that there is only a 22 pound difference between these two pictures.  So please go ahead, check it out if you are interested.

Ok, Easter is over and I definitely  put on a pound.  I’m not going to sweat it, but I’m going into detox mode.  I definitely had more dark chocolate this weekend than we can consider just a treat.  I’m not going to do anything major, just laying off the sweets for a little while.  It is ridiculously crazy how easy it is to become re-addicted to sugar.  I haven’t craved the foods I’ve given up in a long time, but this weekend I was really craving a biscuit and Dr. Pepper.  No, I did not give in.  I am way past the point of giving in to my cravings. When you’re serious about losing the weight, nothing will stand in your way.  So why was I craving these things that I never really loved in the first place? The answer is simple: sugar.

Sugar messes with your head.  It tells your body that you have to have it from any source you can get it.

I do allow myself to have a little dark chocolate and the occasional honey treat (paleo dessert).  The problem is once you take it further than just an occasional treat, you end up in the danger zone.  Sugar will make you believe that losing weight is not worth it, cake is more important.

Cake. Eat cake. Put ice cream on top. Now I need something salty to balance out the sugar. Oooo chips. Now I need sweets again. Just one more piece of cake? Yes cake! Now I need more chips. Oops I ruined my diet, guess I should just have more cake.  I have to eat all the cake to get it out of the house. Yes that’s perfect, eat all the cake and then tomorrow I can start out fresh and there will be no cake.

Tomorrow? Oh man I wish I had some cake, hmm..bread! I need bread! Bread is healthy! Oh no…did I just eat four dinner rolls? Why do I not have any self control?

SUGAR

Does that sound familiar? Of course there is a bit of dramatization to that, but I find it to be an excellent representation of what sugar does to your body and mind.

So how do we keep an occasional treat from becoming out of control? That answer is different for every person.  Self control has to be the number one.  Now just because you are dedicated, have self-control, and have the mental readiness for change, does not mean that you will not have any slip ups.  So stop beating yourself up! Identify your problem and fix it.  That is the only way to be successful, and by the way, that thinking carries over to all aspects of life.

Schedule your treats, portion out your treat.  When baking a dessert, eat a piece and then give the rest away. OR eat your piece, cut the rest up into individual proper portions and freeze it! That way, next time you have a scheduled treat all you have to do is thaw out a single portion.  Out of sight, out of mind. If it is tucked away in the freezer, I’m not going to tempted by what I can’t see.  Let’s be honest, we see the inside of the fridge, pantry, and counter tops way more often than we look in the freezer.  If it is so tempting that you can’t even have it in the freezer, then just give it away.  You don’t need a dessert everyday! If you have it everyday, it is routine, not a treat.  Twice a week works for me, but it’s your body, you can figure out your own balance.

Also, don’t give up fruit in your search to battle sugar addiction.  I am no nutritionist, but I can absolutely say that I have never been out of control or made unhealthy decisions when fruit was involved.

Is it easier just to give up sugar once and for all? Absolutely, but I don’t want to live a life where there is no dessert.

If it is important to you, find a way to make it work in your life.

About allthatwander

Food lover. I feel like that's enough, but what's that? you want to know more? Well, give the people what they want; That's what I always say. Honestly, I can't think of one time I've ever said that, but now I will say it all of the time. Obsessed with creating the most beautiful and tasty food that anyone and everyone can enjoy. Recipes are often paleo based, but they're so good, everyone should eat them! Like now, I'm serious, get in that kitchen NOW! In addition to good food, you get to read my musings on nutrition, fitness, weight-loss, and some life-stuff. I hope you all enjoy an excellent blog, written in my best 4th grade writing skills. Enjoy!

One response »

  1. Pingback: Why we Fail « allthatwander

Leave a Reply

